Sydney Schoolboy signs with Braves: Karl in seventh heaven

by Andrew Prentice

KARL Hoschke is still in dreamland after penning a seven-year deal with the Atlanta Braves.

The Dee Why teenager, long regarded as one of the best junior prospects in NSW, will call America home from next April.

He had a number of potential sporting suitors to mull over before agreeing to terms with the Braves last week because he felt a raft of opportunities will present themselves over the coming years.

“I can’t wait, it will be fantastic,” the Narrabeen Sports High student said yesterday.

“The whole process is pretty nerve-racking, I was constantly checking my emails with my mum.

“One of the offers from Minnesota Twins was tempting, but I am happy with my decision.

“It is all in front of me now, my aim will be to work my way through the system as a rookie before entering the professional ranks.”

If that wasn’t good enough news, the outfielder departs for Korea next Friday, where he will represent Australia’s under-19s at the World Championships.

“At the moment I am doing my trial HSC so I have a bit on, but I won’t be complaining,” he said.

“We have a pretty good team and the coaching staff are confident we will go well.”

“After that I will come home and have a summer season with Manly.

“I think we will be competitive, the squad looks good.”

Source.

Ps. Karl is the 18th Australian to sign this year, the most since 2008.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,262 other followers

